The University of Texas Medical School at Houston
gray bar graphic
  UTHSC-H     People Directory     Webmail     Calendar      A-Z

2006 Commencement Celebrates Graduates, Faculty

Services provided by the Office of Communications
Photos by Ashley Levy

You need to upgrade your Flash Player & enable JavaScript to view this Flash movie.

More than 200 graduating medical students moved forward to their future as physicians at the Medical School's 2006 Commencement ceremony May 27 in the George R. Brown Convention Center.

The ceremony included a keynote address by Dr. Kenneth Shine, executive vice chancellor for health affairs at The University of Texas System, recognition of awards, and conferment of the doctor of medicine degrees.

Awards presented to graduating students included the Walter G. Sterling Award for Excellence to Raegan D'Ann Hunt; the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Gold-Headed Cane Award to Acsa Merari Zavala (honorable mentions went to Allyson McKenney and Chad Richard Smith); and the Hitoshi C. Nikaidoh, M.D. Award for Humanism in Medicine to Julie Philley.

Alumni and faculty awards recognized at commencement included the 2006 Distinguished Alumnus Award to Dr. J. Christopher Farmer, ('82); the John Freeman Faculty Teaching Award to Dr. Han Zhang; the John P. McGovern Award to Dr. Octavio Pinell; the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award to Dr. Keith Hoots; the Herbert L. and Margaret W. DuPont Master Clinical Teaching Award to Dr. John Sparks; and the Alpha Omega Alpha Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award to Dr. Oscar Rosales.

View the Previous Medical School Headlines

Return to the Medical School Homepage

   Submit your events to the calendar

The University of Texas Medical School at Houston