The Scoop: A Publication of the University of Texas Medical School at Houston

Mancias wins DuPont Master Clinical Teaching Award

Dr. Pedro Mancias

Dr. Pedro Mancias

Pedro Mancias, M.D., is the recipient of the 2010 Herbert L. and Margaret W. DuPont Master Clinical Teaching Award.

Established in 2001 and made possible by a gift from the DuPonts, the award recognizes and preserves the essence and quality of the master clinical teacher, reflecting the Medical School’s top priority of quality clinical medical education.

“It is a distinct privilege and honor to be selected for the Herbert L. DuPont and Margaret W. DuPont Master Clinical Teacher Award this year. I have been blessed to have had great mentors and teachers throughout my education, and this award is evidence of that,” said Mancias, associate professor of pediatric neurology.

Mancias said that in addition to his wife and family, colleagues, administrative assistants, coworkers, nurses, EEG/EMG techs, clerks, medical students, residents and fellows, and patients, he thanks the DuPont family for their continued support in recognizing the importance of teaching in the clinical aspects of medicine.

“Teaching plants a seed that eventually reaps what you sow,” he said.

Regarding his style of teaching, Mancias said, “I visualize myself at the level of the learner and ask how and what does the learner need to know, and how can I convey it that it will be internalized? I find that it helps by giving specific case examples and walking through the case from presentation to differential diagnosis and treatment and management.

“I think we learn a lot in life through parables; medicine is no different. A critical thing to remember is that medicine is a team effort, and everyone plays a role.”

Mancias joined the Medical School in 1996. He is an ’88 graduate of the Medical School and completed two years of pediatric training at the University of Arkansas Medical School in Little Rock. He finished his pediatric neurology residency and fellowship in pediatric electromyography and neuromuscular disorders at the Medical School.

His research interests include congenital neuropathies, congenital neuromuscular disorders, and acquired neuropathies. He received the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award in 2008 and both the Benjy F. Brooks Award and John P. McGovern Award in 2010.

Previous recipients of the DuPont award are Phil Johnson, M.D., 2010; Francisco Fuentes, M.D., 2009; Cheves Smythe, M.D., 2008; Eugene Toy, M.D., 2007; John Sparks, M.D., 2006; Victor Lavis, M.D., 2005; Philip Orlander, M.D., 2004; Ian Butler, M.D., 2003; Patrick Brosnan, M.D., 2002; and Frank Arnett, M.D., 2001.

— Darla Brown, Office of Communications, Medical School

Post Comment

Commencement 2011 set for May 27

Dr. Nancy Dickey

Dr. Nancy Dickey

Commencement for the graduating class of 2011 will take place at 4 p.m. Friday, May 27, in the Assembly Theater of the George R. Brown Convention Center.

Dr. Nancy Dickey, president of the Texas A&M Health Science Center and a Distinguished Alumnus Award recipient of the Medical School, is this year’s featured commencement speaker.

240 students will comprise this year’s graduating class.

Post Comment

The Finish Line

2011 Graduation cap

Life's a journey, a marathon—it is said all the time,
We started this leg, hunkered in anatomy lab,
Desperately trying to figure out what structures to memorize,
Then, months turned into years, and the time flew by,
Lecture after lecture, patient after patient,
Our white coats invisibly growing all the while;
Now, here we sit on the cusp of a great tide,
The future healers, compassionate teachers, caring and kind.
Much has been accomplished in such a short time,
We owe it to ourselves, our families to celebrate with good music and fine wine…
But remember, life is a journey, a marathon as they say, and we haven't arrived,
Keep running,
For in this race, there is no finish line.

— Stephen Paul Stampp, MS IV

Post Comment

Academy of Master Educators seminar June 2

The Academy of Master Educators is pleased to host the first Dean’s Education Seminar June 2.

Susan L. Franzen, director of The University of Texas System Leadership Institute, will present a lecture on Educational Leadership noon- 1 p.m., Thursday, June 2 in MSB B.100.

For more information, please contact Linda Guardiola.

Post Comment

Annual update, special friends

Dr. Frank Arnett and Linda Finger were among the special guests at this year's Annual Faculty Meeting May 19 held in MSB 3.001 at the Medical School.

Dr. Frank Arnett and Linda Finger were among the special guests at this year's Annual Faculty Meeting May 19 held in MSB 3.001 at the Medical School. View the video of the meeting. (UThealth login required. May only be viewed via Internet Explorer.)
— Dwight C. Andrews, Office of Communications, Medical School





Read and post comments on our articles.


Receive Scoop and other Medical School publications.

Events to know

May 27

Commencement ceremony.
4 p.m., George R. Brown Convention Center, General Assembly Theater.
Keynote speaker: Dr. Nancy Dickey, ’76, president of the Texas A&M Health Science Center.

May 30

Memorial Day Holiday.

June 1

Quarterly meeting of the MSRDP Board of Directors and Clinical Faculty.
5–6 p.m., MSB 3.001.

June 2

Department of Otorhinolaryngology Grand Rounds: Dr. Susan Pacheco, associate professor of pediatrics, presents, “Upper and Lower Respiratory Tract: Is there a connection?”
7 a.m., MSB B.500.

Department of Surgery Grand Rounds: Dr. Tsuyoshi Kaneko, chief resident, presents, “Road to Excellence—Difference in Residency Training and How to Train a Surgeon.”
7 a.m., MSB 3.001.
CME credit is available.

June 3

Deadline to submit applications for the Dean's Research Awards to honor post candidacy graduate students with advisors in the Medical School, who have achieved distinction in the biomedical sciences.
View eligibility & submission criteria.


Dr. Oscar Ochoa, plastic surgery resident, recently won the Dr. Thomas D. Cronin Award for best resident paper in plastic surgery and Dr. Erik Marques, assistant professor of plastic surgery, won the award for the Best Paper by a member of the society at the Texas Society of Plastic Surgeons Annual Meeting, which was held near Austin.

Scoop is a weekly electronic newsletter providing timely information to the Medical School.

Submit event items or news tips for Scoop by noon on Thursday preceding the week of publication in which you would like your event or news to appear (seven days in advance).

To submit content for Scoop, send an email to

To find out more information about advertising on Scoop, please read this PDF.

Giuseppe N. Colasurdo, M.D.

Darla Brown
Director of Communications

Carlos Gonzalez
Web Developer II