UT House Staff Association

Senate Committees Meetings & Calendar Announcements Constitution FAQ
Website Button Graphics by Vista-Buttons.com v5.5 The University of Texas Medical School at Houston House Staff Association is the representative organizational body for all House Staff in graduate medical education programs at UTMSH. Membership consists of all residents and fellows enrolled in a GME residency or fellowship training program. The Association provides an open forum that allows residents and fellows to communicate and exchange information on their educational and work environment, their programs, and other relevant issues that they face during their training as well as to promote the well being, interests and education of the House Staff. Through monthly meetings and via this website, the Association strives to keep all residents and fellows informed about important issues that impact their professional lives as well as give them a voice to help change them for the better.

The Association is lead by the Executive Council, a peer selected group of residents elected each spring by Association membership. The Council provides input to affiliated hospitals on matters such as patient care and other decisions that affect the day to day activities of the House Staff. The Council also speaks on behalf of the Association on broader matters such as compensation, benefits, duty hours and other quality of life concerns. Individual clinical departments are represented by Senators. Senators may also serve as representatives on many hospital committees, helping these groups work more effectively by having direct input from the residents involved in daily patient care. Faculty guidance and consultation is provided to the Association by faculty and administrative staff of UTMSH as well as senior hospital management.

Residents and clinical fellows are encouraged to attend our monthly meetings, held the second Wednesday of the month at 12:00, noon in the Memorial Hermann - TMC Conference Center.

Anonymous Reporting of Resident Concerns including Duty Hour Violations

Policy on Appropriate Treatment of Students

2014 - 2015 Executive Council
President President Elect Vice President Secretary & Treasurer Member at Large Fellowship Trustee
Dr. Huang Dr. Aggarwal Dr. Claiborne Dr. Weiss
Richard Huang, MD
Josh Showalter, MD
Shreya Aggarwal, MD
Mary Kate Claiborne, MD
Lisa Evans Weiss, MD
Please contact us with any questions or comments at   ms.housestaff@uth.tmc.edu
Follow UTHouseStaff on Twitter